Payneham Cricket Club wins Country Living Homes T20

The Country Living Homes Twenty20 Championships were staged at Adelaide Oval on Monday, 11 March where the Payneham Cricket Club were crowned the State-wide Champions after defeating the Nairne Cricket Club.

In the first game of the day, Payneham were too strong for the South Road Cricket Club in the Country Living Homes Metropolitan Twenty20 Champions Cup. James Stagg was the Man of the Match with 30 runs from 20 balls and backed this up with three wickets.

In the second match, Nairne started strongly with the bat and made 161, with Luke Harrowfield making 54 from 35 balls and taking two wickets to be the Player of the match in the Country Living Homes CountryTwenty20 Champions Cup, while Stansbury CC bowler Ryan Brundell took 4/24. This total proved too much for Stansbury who fell well short of the required runs, after winning their 10th premiership in a row earlier on the weekend.

The Country Living Homes State-wide Twenty20 Champions Final saw Payneham chase down Nairne's score of 118, with Payneham's Andrew Lee named the Man of the Match. Solid batting and sharp running between wickets saw Payneham cruise to victory with overs to spare. 

Overall the day was a huge success with the two SAMCA Under 13 teams from this year's tied grand final, representing the North Eastern Junior and South Central Junior Cricket Associations, receiving their joint winner's medallions on the ground at the start of the day, and the SACA Volunteers Recognition Ceremony saw many of the state's cricket volunteers in attendance, further boosting a healthy crowd of community cricket supporters.

Special thanks to major sponsor Country Living Homes for providing prize money and associated travel expenses, to all metro, country and SACA umpires who officiated, and to SACA for making the Adelaide Oval available for community cricket to experience their 'field of dreams'.



Stansbury and Nairne reach CLH Country Grand Final on Adelaide Oval

The country quarter-finals and semi-finals took place at both Moonta and Stansbury last weekend for the Country Living Homes Twenty20 Championship. Stansbury, West Augusta, Charlton and Central Broken Hill all travelled to Moonta to decide which team will go on to the grand final.

Stansbury were sent in to bat by West Augusta in the first quarter-final, and at the compulsory close of innings were 4/161. T. Rankine (56), J. Moss (30) and A. Pitt (35*) were the top scorers for Stansbury. The imposing total was too big for West Augusta who was bowled out for 90 thanks to an impressive performance in the field from Stansbury. The second quarter final saw Central Broken Hill elect to bat first after winning the toss against Charlton. They managed to record a score of 8/115 after 20 overs with J. Paull (53) top scoring for Central Broken Hill and J. Shanley taking 3/9 for Charlton. Central Broken Hill did their best to defend the modest total but Charlton were too good and won the match in the final over with 7/116. L. Knight (47) was impressive with the bat for Charlton whilst C. Paull (3/16) was dangerous with the ball for Central Broken Hill.

This meant Stansbury and Charlton were to face off in the semi-final.  Charlton won the toss and elected to bat but were restricted to just 7/110 after 20 overs.R. Cottrell (31) top scored for Charlton. Stansbury always looked like chasing down the target and did so in the 19th over at 4/111 thanks largely to J. Moss’ 55*.

Meadows, Nairne, Lower North and North Gambier travelled to Strathalbyn to determine who will meet Stansbury in the preliminary final. Meadows and Nairne came up against each other in the first game with Meadows batting first after winning the toss. Although Meadows did not lose many wickets they struggled to get the runs on the board and after 20 overs finished with 5/99. H. Reid (44*) was the top scorer for Meadows. Nairne comfortably chased down the total in the 19th over finishing the game at 5/102 thanks to a strong partnership from K. Heinrich (37*) and S. Berkett (27). Lower North came up against North Gambier in the second quarter-final with North Gambier sent in to bat first. They were able to put on a defendable score of 7/141 after 20 overs. Lower North looked like they were going to chase down the total but some impressive bowling from North Gambier near the death ensured them victory as they held Lower North to 8/131 from their 20 overs. T. Williams (31) and C. Marshall (41) were the top batters for Lower North, with T. Young (3/26) the most damaging for North Gambier.

After winning their respective quarter-finals Nairne and North Gambier met in the semi-final to determine who would face Stansbury in the preliminary-final. Nairne batted first and had a fantastic innings posting a huge score of 6/208. T. Heinrich (101) played an incredible innings as did J. Tait (46). North Gambier put in a valiant effort in their chase but fell short and at the close of their innings finished at 8/171. S. McInerney (58) and D. Silvi (43) top scored for North Gambier and B. Kain took 3/32 for Nairne.

Stansbury and Nairne will now meet in the grand final at Adelaide Oval on the 11th of March to determine who will be the winner of the Country Living Homes Country Twenty20 Champions Cup.


Content Image Placeholder                                                        Nairne Cricket Club















Content Image Placeholder                                                     Stansbury Cricket Club













The SACA gratefully acknowledges the support provided by Mark Ravenscroft and Country Living Homes.